Faculty Awards, Honors, and Appointments


Gautam Ahuja received the 2016 Dan & Mary Lou Schendel Award for the Best Paper Published in Strategic Management Journal for his 2001 paper, "Technological Acquisitions and the Innovation Performance of Acquiring Firms: A Longitudinal Study." This is an award for long-term research contribution and impact.


Wayne Baker's case study “Moo Cluck Moo: Serving Up More Than the Minimum Wage” was the most popular with Aspen Institute readers of Ideas Worth Teaching.


David Brophy received the Michigan Venture Capital Association’s 2016 Above and Beyond Award at the MVCA annual awards dinner in November. The prestigious award recognizes his more than 50 years of contributions to Michigan’s venture industry and entrepreneurial community as an educator, investor, advisor, trustee, director, and author. The honor also pays tribute to his founding of the Michigan Growth Capital Symposium.


Andy Hoffman's book How Culture Shapes the Climate Change Debate (Stanford University Press) received an Honorable Mention for the 2016 ONE Best Book Award.


Wally's Hopp’s paper “Complexity-Augmented Triage: A Tool for Improving Patient Safety and Operational Efficiency" won the Manufacturing and Service Operations Management SIG Best Paper Award and the Manufacturing and Service Operations Management Journal Best Paper Award.


Stephen Leider has been appointed as an associate editor for the journal Management Science.


David Mayer was elected as a fellow in the Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology. The SIOP reserves fellow status for “distinguished industrial and organizational psychologists who have made an unusual and outstanding contribution to the field.” Less than one-half of one percent of SIOP members are fellows.


Sarah Miller and Cindy Soo were awarded a $149,990 grant from the Russell Sage Foundation to study the effect of better neighborhoods on financial well-being and access to credit.


Dana Muir won the Hober Memorial Award for her article in the American Business Law Journal, which focused on the different ways to enforce legal obligations with regard to 401(k) plans.


Paolo Pasquariello will be a co-editor at the Journal of Financial Markets.


Martin Schmalz, with his coauthors Miguel Anton, Florian Ederer, and Mirea Gine, was awarded the prize "Premio de Investigacion 2016 de la Fundacion de Estudios Financieros" by the Foundation for Financial Studies (FEF) in Spain, for the research paper "Common Ownership, Competition, and Top Management Incentives."


Tyler Shumway has become a departmental editor for the finance area at the journal Management Science.


Toni Whited was elected a director of the American Finance Association.


Carolyn Yoon has been elected to the board of directors of the Association for Consumer Research. She will serve a three-year term, assuming the role of Treasurer-in-Training Jan. 1 and then Treasurer on Jan. 1, 2018.


Stefan Zeume was awarded the NTT Fellowship, which will give him a semester off from teaching to do research. He will present his research results to finance faculty and doctoral students following his semester off at an annual dinner. The NTT Advisory Board consisted of Stefan Nagel, Amiyatosh Purnanandam, Tyler Shumway, Toni Whited, and E. Han Kim.

Never miss an alumni update, networking opportunity, or event.
Stay Connected
Stay Connected

Update Your Profile

Keeping your profile updated allows us to inform you of events in your area and enables other Ross alums to connect with you.

By submitting your information, you give permission to Michigan Ross to send alumni-related emails. Your information will be kept confidential and you can unsubscribe at any time.